RU 中文 

Donald Jackson

Donald Jackson

Donald Jackson

Monmouth, Wales, United Kingdom

Calligrapher and illuminator. Artistic Director and principal illuminator of The Saint Johns Bible

Biography

Donald Jackson, M.V.O., K.S.G.

From 1998 till its completion in May 2011, Donald Jackson was the Artistic Director and principal illuminator of The Saint Johns Bible. From his scriptorium in Wales, he oversaw scribes, artists and craftsmen who worked with him handwriting and illuminating the seven volume, 1,150 page book on vellum.

From 2007 to 2012, Jackson was Artistic Director of the $40,000,000 publishing project centred on the Heritage Edition, facsimile volumes of The Saint Johns Bible. Many are now in collections of widely varying institutions and faith communities around the world.*

He was awarded a scholarship to Bolton College of Art aged 13 and at 20, as a graduate student, he was appointed visiting lecturer at the Camberwell College of Art, London. In 1974, he was chosen to take part in the Victoria and Albert Museum’s first International Calligraphy Show after the war and was appointed a scribe to the Crown Office at the House of Lords. As Senior Illuminator to the Crown Office of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, he is responsible for the creation of official state documents. In conjunction with a wide range of other calligraphic projects, he executes Historic Royal documents including Letters Patent under The Great Seal and Royal Charters.

Past Chairman of the Society of Scribes and Illuminators, and Past Master of the Worshipful Company of Scriveners of the City of London. His personally innovative work and inspirational teaching, together with books, documentaries and exhibitions in Europe, Scandinavia, North America, Puerto Rico, Australia and China have led to his being widely acknowledged as a seminal influence on the growth of Western calligraphy over the past 50 years. Since 2005, completed sections of The Saint Johns Bible have been on continual exhibit in museums and galleries throughout the US and Canada as well as the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. On four occasions it was exhibited alongside The Dead Sea Scrolls.

*Amongst these are - Australian Catholic University, Australia (5 campuses); Brigham Young University, Salt Lake City (Mormon); Mayo Clinics, MN; Pepperdine University, CA; Saint Martin-in-the-Fields, London; Vassar College, NY; Vatican Museum and Vatican Library, Rome; Pierpont Morgan Library, New York. They have also been acquired by Baptist and Methodist institutions.

‘When I was a nine year old, desire led me to copying ancient scripts and decorated letters. I loved the feel of the pen as it touched the page and the breathtaking effect of the flow of coloured ink as its wetness caught the light. Those sensations, which I still experience as I work, are what seem to select the shapes and colours of my designs or words. The quill, not my conscious thinking makes the choice. The continual process of remaining open and the accepting of what may reveal itself through hand and heart on a crafted page, is the closest I have ever come to God.

In making the Bible as a celebration of the Word of God for the twenty-first century in modern scripts, I realise it is the thing I have been preparing for all my life. The Bible is the calligrapher’s supreme challenge, (our Sistine Chapel), a daunting task. So, the pursuit of closeness to God; a lifetime’s dream; a fearful challenge.’

Author works

A Cristo Crucificado

Vellum. Executed entirely in raised and burnished gold, 435×350 mm (including frame), 1996

Personal Sketchbook

¼ bound in leather, сovered in hand-painted silk. Vellum page, raised and burnished gold; powder gold; tempera and gouache; pen and brush, 310×840 mm (as an open book), 1993

John Frontispiece ‘And the word was flesh’

Original on calfskin vellum, burnished gold on gesso, powdered gold, egg tempera, casein and gouache paint. Chinese stick ink and gouache for the writing using a quill pen and brush, 625×810 mm wide, 2002

The Woman and the Dragon

Original on calfskin vellum, burnished gold on gesso, powdered gold, acrylic medium for gold leaf, egg tempera, casein and gouache paint. Fragments of holographic embossing foil and platinum powder. Chinese stick ink and gouache for the writing using a quill pen and brush. 625×810 mm, 2011

New Jerusalem

Printed facsimile pages from The Saint Johns Bible. Original on calfskin vellum. Burnished gold on gesso, powdered gold, acrylic medium for gold leaf, egg tempera, casein and gouache paint. Chinese stick ink and gouache for the writing using a quill pen and brush. 62.5cm high x 81cm wide, 2011

For Life 1

Рaper, ink, quill. 42×29,5 cm

For Life 2

Рaper, ink, quill. 42×29,5 cm

For Life 3

Рaper, ink, ruling pen. 42×29,5 cm

For Life 4

Рaper, ink, quill. 42×29,5 cm
Back to list
Exhibition opens in 660 days
Words Of Wisdom
When there are no words left, the meaning is still preserved.

EN 中文 

ДЖЕКСОН Дональд

ДЖЕКСОН Дональд

ДЖЕКСОН Дональд

Монмут, Уэльс, Великобритания

Каллиграф, мастер иллюминирования. Художественный директор и старший специалист по иллюминированию проекта «Библия святого Иоанна»

Биография

Дональд Джексон, член Королевского викторианского ордена, кавалер ордена святого Георгия

С 1998 по май 2011 года Дональд Джексон занимал должность художественного директора и старшего специалиста по иллюминированию в проекте создания Библии святого Иоанна. Из своего скриптория в Уэльсе он руководил работой писцов, художников и мастеров, которые вместе с ним творили рукописную иллюминированную Библию — семь томов или 1150 страниц пергамента.

В 2007−2012 годах Джексон также был художественным директором 40-миллионного проекта издания Библии для культурного наследия. Произведенные в рамках этого проекта точные копии оригинала Библии святого Иоанна сегодня можно увидеть в коллекциях разнообразных учреждений и религиозных общин по всему миру. *

В возрасте 13 лет Дональд Джексон начал получать стипендию колледжа искусств в Болтоне, а 7 лет спустя он, будучи уже студентом выпускного курса, стал приглашенным лектором в Лондонском колледже искусств в Камберуэлле. В 1974 он попал в список участников первой послевоенной Международной выставки каллиграфии в музее Виктории и Альберта, и тогда же был назначен писцом центральной канцелярии Высокого суда в Палате лордов. В роли главного специалиста канцелярии по иллюминированию Джексон отвечал за создание официальных государственных документов. Наряду с массой других каллиграфических проектов, его перу принадлежат исторические королевские документы, среди которых жалованные грамоты с большой государственной печатью Великобритании и королевские грамоты.

В прошлом он также занимал должности председателя сообщества писцов и мастеров по иллюминированию и руководителя Почтенного общества писцов Лондона. Его новаторские работы и воодушевляющий стиль преподавания, вкупе с книгами, документальными фильмами и выставками в Европе, Скандинавии, Северной Америке, Пуэрто-Рико, Австралии и Китае, снискали ему мировую славу мастера, оказавшего решающее влияние на развитие западной каллиграфии в последние 50 лет. Начиная с 2005 года, готовые главы Библии святого Иоанна непрерывно выставляются в музеях и галереях США и Канады, а также в Лондонском музее Виктории и Альберта. Четыре раза они попадали в экспозиции вместе со «Свитками Мертвого Моря» или так называемыми Кумранскими рукописями.

* Среди них — Австралийский католический университет (5 кампусов) ; университет мормонов Бригама Янга в Солт-Лейк-Сити; клиника Майо (Миннесота), университет Пеппердайна (Калифорния) ; церковь святого Мартина в Лондоне; колледж Вассара (Нью-Йорк) ; музей и библиотека Ватикана (Рим) ; библиотека и музей Моргана (Нью-Йорк). Также экземпляры являются собственностью различных баптистских и методистских учреждений.

«Уже в девятилетнем возрасте я начал копировать древние шрифты и иллюминированные буквы — мне очень нравилось, как движется перо по бумаге, а когда на ней появлялись блестящие на свету линии от туши, просто захватывало дух. Эти ощущения я испытываю в работе и по сей день, и, похоже, что они определяют формы и цвета, которые я использую в своем творчестве. Выбор вместо меня делает перо. Это непрерывный процесс, в котором ты в любое мгновение готов увидеть и принять то, что появится на бумаге из-под пера и от сердца. В такие моменты я ближе к Богу, чем когда бы то ни было.

В процессе создания Библии, этого торжества слова Божьего, написанного современными шрифтами в 21 веке, я осознал, что готовился к этому всю свою жизнь. Библия для каллиграфа — работа высочайшей сложности, своего рода Сикстинская капелла, невероятно смелая задача. И на деле она становится поиском пути к Богу, мечтой всей жизни, пугающей, но волнующей задумкой.»

Работы автора

Распятие Христа

Пергамент. Работа полностью выполнена позолотой. 435×350 мм (с рамой), 1996 г.

Альбом эскизов

Кожаный переплет ¼, расписанный вручную шелк. Пергамент, позолота; золотая пудра; темпера и гуашь. Перо и кисть. 310×840 мм (в открытом виде), 1993 г.

Фронтиспис Библии святого Иоанна «И Слово стало плотию»

Копии страниц из Библии святого Иоанна. Оригинал — пергамент из телячьей кожи, позолота на грунте, золотая пудра, яичная темпера, молочный клей и гуашь. Текст — китайская тушь и гуашь, инструменты — гусиное перо и кисть, 625×810 мм, 2002 г.

Женщина и Дракон

Копии страниц из Библии святого Иоанна. Оригинал — пергамент из телячьей кожи, позолота на грунте, золотая пудра, акриловая основа для потали, яичная темпера, молочный клей и гуашь. Фрагменты объемной тисненой фольги и платиновая пудра. Текст — китайская тушь и гуашь, инструменты — гусиное перо и кисть. 625×810 мм, 2011 г.

Новый Иерусалим

Копии страниц из Библии святого Иоанна. Оригинал — пергамент из телячьей кожи. Позолота на грунте, золотая пудра, акриловая основа для потали, яичная темпера, молочный клей и гуашь. Текст — китайская тушь и гуашь, инструменты — гусиное перо и кисть. 62.5×81 см, 2011 г.

За жизнь 1

Бумага, тушь, птичье перо. 42×29,5 см, 2017

За жизнь 2

Бумага, тушь, птичье перо. 42×29,5 см, 2017 г.

За жизнь 3

Бумага, тушь, перо. 42×29,5 см, 2017

За жизнь 4

Бумага, тушь, птичье перо. 42×29,5 см, 2017 г.
Вернуться к списку
До открытия выставки 824 дня
Мудрые мысли
Каллиграфия — это цветок души человека.